giaguara

giaguara's corner

Friday Recipes & Food Explorations #1: Sweet Potato Greens & Stems

1 Comment

Friday Recipes & Food Explorations #1: Sweet Potato Greens & Stems

I’m painfully aware that I haven’t made a blog entry for ages. Too many things going on, other stuff to write, and even the classic what I want to finally write (like a guide for touristing in Ireland) are still on shelf.

So time to try something new. Oh yay, I’m jumping on the ah so 2008 bandwagon of food blogging… I guess. Someone told I should document my experiments with food, so here goes. As Friday is often the day I end up getting some new ingredients (at least if I order from Greenling), here goes #1.

Fried Sweet Potato Stems

Wait, what? I’ve had some sweet potato greens in some neat ways in our favorite Korean restaurant, but this week’s batch contained hon tsai tsai, aka sweet potato greens. There was a recipe for a curry with them, but time to experiment. Greens separately, stems separately.

I rinsed the greens, then separated the leaves from the stems, and blached the leaves for 10 seconds, the stems (chopped to 1″ pieces) for a minute.

Then, for the stems… heat some olive oil, and fresh smashed garlic and home grown thai peppers, crushed red pepper, and get the flavor out of them. Add the stems, and keep them moving. After a few minutes add some thai fish sauce (I was out of soy sauce but fish sauce worked just fine), and adjust the flavor with some lime juice. Fry until a bit more tender or up to taste, maybe 10 min or so. Finish with fresh chives, parsley, vietnamese coriander and other herbs of choice, and enjoy. Or let cool and then enjoy. Makes a neat side dish. Then prepare the leaves

Author: UnuhiNuiʻi

"Oh, I see" (not literally). Accessibility user and advocate.

One thought on “Friday Recipes & Food Explorations #1: Sweet Potato Greens & Stems

  1. Pingback: Friday Recipes & Food Explorations #2: Sweet Potato Greens | giaguara

Leave a Reply

